

Virginia American Revolution 250 Commission (VA250)

Full Commission Meeting Tuesday, April 16, 2024, 10:00 a.m. General Assembly Building House Room A (Lower level)

AGENDA

10:00 am	Call to Order and Roll Call <i>The Honorable Terry L. Austin, Chair</i>
10:05 am	Chair's Remarks Approval of Minutes from January 5, 2024
10:10 am	Cardinal News 250 Series Overview <i>Dwayne Yancey and Luanne Rife</i>
10:20 am	Advisory Council Reports Tribal Nations Leadership Advisory Council Chair: Stephen R. Adkins, Chickahominy Tribe
	African American Advisory Council Chair: Senator Mamie E. Locke
	Upcoming Convenings: Education Advisory Council (Secretary Guidera) Museum community (Scott Stroh and Karen Daly, VAM) Arts community (First Lady Suzanne Youngkin and Carly Fiorina) Convening associations (Carly Fiorina)
10:45 am	Update on Programs
	A Common Cause to All (March 18-20, 2024) Cliff Fleet and Cheryl Wilson
	VMHC/JYF Joint Exhibition: <i>Give Me Liberty: Virginia and the Forging of a</i> Nation Jamie Bosket and Christy Coleman
	Fincastle Resolution 250 th Eric Monday and Ashley Webb

VA250 Mobile Museum Experience Cheryl Wilson and Kate Egner Gruber

July 4 at State Capitol: A Celebration of Freedom and Our Nation's Founding Carly Fiorina and Cheryl Wilson

11:15 amDevelopment ReportBen Dendy, President, Virginia Commemorations, Inc.

11:20 am Staff Report

Cheryl Wilson

- Virtual meeting policy
- Marketing, licensing, outreach, and media report
- Grant recommendations (VTC two rounds, VCA) \$
- Legislative update

11:40 am: Spotlight on 250th Across the State

- Shaping the World: Conversations on Democracy (Poplar Forest) Alyson Ramsey, President and CEO, Thomas Jefferson's Poplar Forest
- Prince William local committee activities Loren Maloy, PWC Historic Communities Coordinator (VIRTUAL)

12:00 noon: Other Business; Adjournment

Upcoming meeting dates:

Tuesday, July 16, 2024: 10:00 am Tuesday, October 15, 2024: 10:00 am Tuesday, January 7, 2025: 10:00 am

\$ Requires 2/3 vote

Members and Invited Participants

**The Honorable Terry L. Austin, Chair, Virginia House of Delegates **The Honorable Mamie E. Locke, Vice Chair, Senate of Virginia *Carly Fiorina, VA250 National Honorary Chair The Honorable Alex Q. Askew, Virginia House of Delegates **Chief Stephen R. Adkins, Chickahominy Indian Tribe **Edward H. Baine, Dominion Energy Virginia Diane Bechamps, Virginia Tourism Corporation Jean Ann Bolling, Mechanicsville VA **Jamie O. Bosket, Virginia Museum of History and Culture Gretchen Bulova, Office of Historic Alexandria Gloria Marrero Chambers, Jamestown-Yorktown Foundation Board of Trustees **Christy S. Coleman, Jamestown-Yorktown Foundation **H. Benson Dendy III, Chairman Emeritus, Jamestown-Yorktown Foundation David Duncan, American Battlefield Trust **Clifford B. Fleet, Colonial Williamsburg Foundation Sue Gerdelman, Jamestown-Yorktown Foundation Board of Trustees **The Honorable Aimee R. Guidera, Secretary of Education Peter Hedlund, Virginia Humanities Dennis Clark, Library of Virginia The Honorable Paul E. Krizek, Virginia House of Delegates Julie Langan, Department of Historic Resources The Honorable Elizabeth McClanahan, Former Justice, Supreme Court of Virginia Eric Monday, Virginia Bar Association Katherine A. Rowe, William & Mary Chief Anne Richardson, Rappahannock Tribe Jackie Stone, McGuire Woods LLP **Scott M. Stroh III. Gunston Hall *Dr. Douglas Bradburn, Mount Vernon *Dr. Jane Kamensky, Monticello *Jerri Marr, Colonial National Historical Park

*Participating at the request of the Chair **Member of Executive Committee

Staff

Cheryl Wilson, Executive Director Elizabeth Mancano, Deputy Director Katherine Dabney, Development Associate Patrick Daughtry, Director of Major Gifts Mike Frontiero, Chief Communications Officer Trevor Grimm, Digital Media and Brand Director Kate Egner Gruber, Director of Engagement, Interpretation, and Public Programming John Hennessy, Interpretive Planner Jessica Kilgo, Chief Financial Officer Lindsey McDade, Fiscal Technician Susan Nolan, Director of Institutional Giving Brian Shaw, Chief Development Strategist Korin Taddei, Executive Assistant

VA250 Emerging Leaders Fellow

Alton Coston, III