

# Virginia American Revolution 250 Commission (VA250) African American Advisory Council

Fort Monroe Visitor & Education Center 30 Ingalls Road, Fort Monroe, VA 23651 Friday, March 29, 2024 10:00 am - Noon

## AGENDA

**Call to Order** *The Honorable Mamie Locke, Chair* 

#### **Chair's Remarks and Introductions**

Welcome Remarks from Fort Monroe

G. Glenn Oder, Executive Director, Fort Monroe Authority

# **Remarks from VA250 National Honorary Chair**

Carly Fiorina

### VA250: Overview of Planning and Programming

# **Future Meeting Schedule**

Possible dates: May 21 or 22

### Discussion and Questions for Reflection:

What lessons can we learn from previous commemorations? How do we make the semiquincentennial meaningful to all Virginians? What programs should be planned? What would you like to see occur during this commemoration to highlight African American history and culture? How do we get there? What are the under-told and under-known stories that should be highlighted statewide? What should be our next steps?

#### **Advisory Council Members and Invited Participants**

The Honorable Mamie E. Locke, Chair, Senate of Virginia Dr. Edward L. Ayers, President Emeritus, University of Richmond Dr. Nathaniel L. (NL) Bishop, SVP and Chief Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Officer, Carillion Clinic The Honorable Martin D. Brown, Chief Diversity Officer, Commonwealth of Virginia The Honorable Winsome Earle-Sears, Lt. Governor of Virginia The Honorable S. Bernard Goodwyn, Chief Justice, Supreme Court of Virginia Connie Matthews Harshaw, Board President, Let Freedom Ring Foundation, First Baptist Church Professor Ervin Jordan, Associate Professor and Research Archivist, University of Virginia Dr. Maureen Elgersman Lee, Bray School Lab Director, William & Mary Rev. William Lee, Pastor, Loudoun Ave. Christian Church (LACC) (ret.) Patrice Lewis, Government Affairs Manager, Gentry Locke Attorneys The Honorable L. Louise Lucas, President pro tempore, Senate of Virginia Rita McClenny, President and CEO, Virginia Tourism Corporation The Honorable Delores McQuinn, Virginia House of Delegates Dr. Cassandra Newby-Alexander, Professor of Virginia Black History and Culture, Norfolk State University Rohulamin Quander, Administrative Judge (Ret.), District of Columbia Felix Sarfo-Kantanka, Jr., External Affairs Manager, Dominion Energy Phyllis Terrell, Director of Communications, Fort Monroe Dr. Vanessa Thaxton-Ward, Director, Hampton University Museum The Honorable Luke Torian, Virginia House of Delegates Cainan Townsend, Executive Director, Robert Russa Moton Museum James Warren, Founder and CEO, Share More Stories Dr. Gregory Washington, President, George Mason University Major General Cedric T. Wins, Superintendent, Virginia Military Institute

### VA250 Leadership and Staff

Carly Fiorina, VA250 National Honorary Chair The Honorable Terry Austin, VA250 Chair, Virginia House of Delegates Cheryl Wilson, Executive Director Kate Egner Gruber, Director of Engagement, Public Programming, & Interpretation John Hennessey, Interpretive Planner Katherine Dabney, Development & Engagement Associate Frank Sadler, Chief of Staff to Carly Fiorina Korin Taddei, Executive Assistant