

Virginia American Revolution 250 Commission (VA250)

Full Commission Meeting Wednesday, July 17, 2024, 10:00 a.m. General Assembly Building House Room A (Lower level)

10:00 am	Call to Order and Roll Call <i>The Honorable Terry L. Austin, Chair</i>
	Approval of Minutes from April 16, 2024
10:05 am	Remarks from VA250 National Honorary Chair <i>Carly Fiorina</i>
10:10 am	VA250 Preservation Grant Fund Julie Langan
10:20 am	Multi-state Collaborative Opportunity: "Two Lights for Tomorrow" (April 18-19, 2025) Kevin Hampton, Wisconsin 250 Commission
10:30 am	Advisory Council Reports and Other Convenings Tribal Nations Leadership Advisory Council Chair: Stephen R. Adkins, Chickahominy Tribe
	African American Advisory Council Chair: Senator Mamie E. Locke
	Education Steering Committee Chair: Secretary Aimee Guidera
	VAM Museums Collaborative Co-Chairs: Karen Daly (Stratford Hall) and Scott Stroh (Gunston Hall)
	Convene the Conveners Cheryl Wilson
11:00 am	Development Report Ben Dendy, President, Virginia Commemorations, Inc.
11:05 am	Marketing Report Diane Bechamps, Vice President, Virginia Tourism Corporation

11:10 am Upcoming Programs / On the Horizon

A Common Cause to All (March 24-26, 2025) Cliff Fleet

VMHC/JYF Joint Exhibition: *Give Me Liberty: Virginia and the Forging of a Nation Jamie Bosket and Christy Coleman*

11:20 am Staff Report

Cheryl Wilson

- July 4th event at State Capitol: A Celebration of Freedom and Our Nation's Founding
- Media report
- Grant recommendations (VH Round 2) \$
- Upcoming Events

Fairfax Resolves (Alexandria: Thursday, July 18; Gunston Hall and Mount Vernon: Wednesday, July 24 – Thursday, July 25)
Bray School opening ceremony (Friday, November 1)
Yorktown Tea Party (Thursday, November 7)
Lafayette's Grand Tour (Multiple locations, Fall 2024)
Launch of Mobile Museum (TBD)
Fincastle Resolutions (January 2025)
A Common Cause to All (March 24-26, 2025)
Opening of Give Me Liberty: Virginia and the Forging of a Nation (VMHC)
St. John's Church: 250th anniversary of Patrick Henry's "Give Me Liberty or Give Me Death" speech (March 22-23, 2025)

11:45 am **Other Business; Adjournment**

Upcoming meeting dates:

Tuesday, October 15, 2024: 10:00 am Tuesday, January 7, 2025: 10:00 am

\$ Requires 2/3 vote

Members

**The Honorable Terry L. Austin, Chair, Virginia House of Delegates **The Honorable Mamie E. Locke, Vice Chair, Senate of Virginia Carly Fiorina, VA250 National Honorary Chair The Honorable Alex Q. Askew, Virginia House of Delegates **Chief Stephen R. Adkins, Chickahominy Indian Tribe **Edward H. Baine, Dominion Energy Virginia Diane Bechamps, Virginia Tourism Corporation Jean Ann Bolling, Mechanicsville VA **Jamie O. Bosket, Virginia Museum of History and Culture Dr. Douglas Bradburn, Mount Vernon Gretchen Bulova, Office of Historic Alexandria Gloria Marrero Chambers, Jamestown-Yorktown Foundation Board of Trustees Dennis Clark, Library of Virginia **Christy S. Coleman, Jamestown-Yorktown Foundation **H. Benson Dendy III, Chairman Emeritus, Jamestown-Yorktown Foundation David Duncan, American Battlefield Trust **Clifford B. Fleet, Colonial Williamsburg Foundation Sue Gerdelman, Jamestown-Yorktown Foundation Board of Trustees **The Honorable Aimee R. Guidera, Secretary of Education Peter Hedlund, Virginia Humanities Dr. Jane Kamensky, Monticello The Honorable Paul E. Krizek, Virginia House of Delegates Julie Langan, Department of Historic Resources Jerri Marr, Colonial National Historical Park The Honorable Elizabeth McClanahan, Former Justice, Supreme Court of Virginia The Honorable Ryan T. McDougle, Member, Senate of Virginia Eric Monday, Virginia Bar Association The Honorable Thomas K. Norment, Former Member, Senate of Virginia The Honorable Kenneth R. Plum, Former Member, Virginia House of Delegates Katherine A. Rowe, William & Mary Chief Anne Richardson, Rappahannock Tribe Jackie Stone, McGuire Woods LLP **Scott M. Stroh III. Gunston Hall

Staff

Cheryl Wilson, Executive Director Katherine Dabney, Development Associate Patrick Daughtry, Director of Major Gifts Mike Frontiero, Chief Communications Officer Trevor Grimm, Digital Media and Brand Director Kate Egner Gruber, Director of Engagement, Interpretation, and Public Programming John Hennessy, Interpretive Planner Jessica Kilgo, Chief Financial Officer Lindsey McDade, Fiscal Technician Susan Nolan, Director of Institutional Giving Brian Shaw, Chief Development Strategist Korin Taddei, Executive Assistant

VA250 Emerging Leaders Fellow

Alton Coston III

**Member of Executive Committee